top of page

OLA (Ola The Barbarian)


1:What do you write ,  how long have you been writing for (year started), and why did you get involved in it ?



I write Ola/ Ola The Barbarian . Started writing this name in 97 . I got involved in graffiti because it was everywhere around me and I knew it was a shitty thing to do and I liked that.



2:How did you get your name?


I got my name by attempting many names and then figuring out what letters I was best at or liked the most. I liked 3 and 2 letter names a lot so I had to figure out something that worked. In 2001-2 i got into a lot of Viking history and other subjects and was attempting to live a life similar to that but in modern times and adopted “The Barbarian “ mainly through friends calling me that.


3: Who were your biggest influences and why?


I’m not big on name dropping and there would be too many for this but I am and was influenced by many asshole weird bombers from New York, Los Angeles and San Francisco/ Bay Area. The MEANER AND WEIRDER THE BETTER!



4: What's  your Favorite type of graffiti? (Scribes,tag,bombs,or styles)


My favorite graffiti?? Is a wide range of shit from the obvious demented asshole destructive tags and throw up’s to block letters from certain people and there’s certain people who I like to see pieces from. It depends on the person really.



5: Do you consider graffiti Hip Hop? and if not where did you pick it up from and what group do you think it falls in?


Uhhhhh I guess certain shit is and certain shit isn’t I’m kind of a history researcher in that regard so yeah it became popular and definitely boomed in the early hip hop era but I assure you it wasn’t the FIRST graffiti  But yeah it’s pretty undeniable that graffiti and hip hop coincide with one another but again some is and some isn’t.




6: What's your favorite type of music?


I listen to a range of completely intolerable noise, metal and a host of other obnoxious music and sometimes classical when the urge to potentially kill grows strong enough that I have to calm ME down. I’ll also listen to 90’s hip hop that is either super outrageous or thought provoking on the rare occasion.



7: What's the difference between Graffiti and Gang graffiti to you?


Well ones blatantly gang graffiti and the stupid fuckn cops are too retarded to figure it out and just lump it all in together and then there’s just a person vandalizing shit ?


8: Fruity pebbles or coco pebbles? 


This is a shitty krestchun! Both are pretty fuckn delicious tbh .



9: Are you in your prime as of right now? And if not, when do you think your prime was? 


I am not in my prime now, nor was I nor will I be ever I will simply do what I want at my own will I’m not in an imaginary competition with anyone even myself. I will bomb/ tag etc in this fashion until I fuckn die.


10: What's your favorite city that you have painted and why is it your favorite?


Ehhh idk There’s really nothing like New York. It’s just got a way grimier feel to it then anywhere else.



11: What do you think of people getting jail time for graffiti ?


I think it’s part of the game. That’s what makes it what it is A CRIME! If it wasn’t I wouldn’t do it. Realistically what would vandalism be if some demented destructive/ borderline mentally ill person wasn’t risking something for it? If you’re not willing to go to jail then go inside and paint on a fuckn canvas pussy !


12: Do you still drink 40’s and if so what's your favorite brand to drink?


I do not but Old English is the breakfast of champions!



13: How do you feel about the graffiti trend and as well as being used for everything now a days (clothing,lunch boxes , hats , etc…..)


I really do my best to not pay attention to this because it kills it for me on some levels . I will admit I have 1 “graffiti “ T-shirt from someone who I could not bring myself to not support their cause but realistically I just don’t care and mind my own business and am pretty oblivious at this point to it .


14: Do you have a chase story that people would like to hear one that you almost shit your self during?


First off speaking of shit I either take a shit in public or step in human shit on damn near every mission I go on lol . But the worst chase story has to be Manhattan 27th street across from FIT roller with Bat absolute fuckn nightmare.



Bat gets the sketch up and I start filling in and we notice a lady across the street in the fashion institute building right across from us BLATANTLY watching us and she’s got a phone to her ear .. but she eventually goes away and we’re not stopping so fuck her. At serious grueling labor level I’m pumping the fill out and bat starts outlining I’m finally done. I go to the edge of the roof and have a drink of water everything is cool af I start doing 3D bat starts doing the background and I keep hearing yelling?? So I drop the pole and of course there’s 2 guys yelling up from across the street? I’m like ok fuck you dick heads for blowing the spot. I go tell bat what’s happening he thinks I’m tripping we go look now there’s 4 guys.. Bat “ Oh shit it’s the dicks!!!” we get as much shit as we can carry and I’m pouring paint all over everything we can’t and I hear him say Oh shit we gotta go NOW! Wtf look over cops are pulling up guys from before are trying to figure out how to get up.


So we blast down this first ladder off the roof onto another and use the jet pack to get into what will be a maze of buildings we will be stuck behind for the next 3 hours.


We’re climbing fire escapes trying doors we’re fuckn stuck in a one block behind massive buildings enclosure the fuckn cops are inside trying to get over to where we are but are too pussy to climb through.


We’re fuckn scrambling to get tf out of this place and I see a glass greenhouse type structure and I think I can balance on the corner of the glass to get out. I can.. bat follows me out.


But we’re in an alley and cops are swarming so we can’t just make a break for it…


Next to a dumpster I see a wheelchair and I tell bat let’s strip into normal clothes ( which we brought THANKFULLY) and you get in the wheelchair and I’ll push you act mad retarded though ok . He agrees. We see a gap in the cops passing Bat saddles up in the wheelchair and I start pushing.. we’re out we walk 10 steps and cops on foot are looking at us BAT goes full daaa boo dee baa booo handicapped in the wheelchair and the cops look away. We get one block away cop pulls up looks bat puts on another show.. we’re at the subway station. Bat stays in wheelchair for the remainder of the ride. We make it out. True story lmaooo

It took FOREVER to figure out how to get out we were cornered for literal hours


Story over?? No!!


Night 2  Bat wants to finish lol I stand on the corner he goes up to finish background and I’m keeping point and in about 20 minutes ( he’s almost done) I’m suddenly surrounded by a bunch of OBVIOUS Dt’s . Fuck here we go again!! They are definitely interested in me but I’m not doing anything and they’re pointing up at Bat and are trying to get up the ladder to him but bat makes it over to a building with an open door ( I can’t see this) and walks right up to me with the cops right there and we leave. They got the paint and tools but we made it out again!



15: Any last Shout outs?


Shout outs: yeah shout out Stay ugly crew The homies from the P the homies from Evil kids and Vto. Negative shout out to the hotdog eating contest dick sucking competition look I can do what everyone else is doing tropical shit storm of a mess the mainstream scene is in as of current. And peace to everyone out there getting it and doing their own thing. - OTB .

P.S yeah I fuckn said it !!!


Super important to put that on 😂😂😂





MY FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow

I’M ALWAYS HAPPY

TO GET TO KNOW MY READERS AND SHARE INSIGHTS AND IDEAS. 

 

DROP ME A LINE 

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page